Tags

, , , ,

My kids are at sleepaway camp, so I had the luxury of time to ponder the virgin birth.

Matthew 1:18

“This is how the birth of Jesus the Messiah came about: His mother Mary was pledged to be married to Joseph, but before they came together, she was found to be pregnant through the Holy Spirit.”

I find this statement so fascinating. As an adult, my mind went straight to sex. You cannot NOT think about sex when you think about making babies. The sperm and the egg. Nature reveals the beginning of life to us in other ways, like the seed and the ground. In that case, the ground is a host for the seed. Perhaps the way Mary was conceived was more like a plant. She was the earthy host, into which a seed was planted. Perhaps the difference between plant germination and human conception is that the woman was taken from a man, and in order to form a new person, sperm and egg must unite as one. But where there is no separation, there doesn’t need to be a reunification.

Genesis 2:23

“The man said, ‘This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of  my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.”

I have been paying attention to the many metaphors in the Bible these days. The word “seed” is mentioned a lot. The dynamic equivalent of “seed” is “word.” Check out Matthew 13, the Parable of the Sower, and even those who are clueless are given many clues how to read parables.

It is important to note that there is such a thing as good seed and bad seed. Here is an example of the mentioning of “good seed.”

Matthew 13:37

“And He said, ‘The one who sows the good seed is the Son of Man…'”

Another strong Biblical principle is that God’s nature does not change, and He reveals truth through nature. It is very orderly:

Matthew 7:18

“A good tree cannot produce bad fruit, nor can a bad tree produce good fruit.”

So, Jesus was conceived by the Holy Spirit. Was He good fruit, or bad fruit? Here is the answer:

Luke 18:19

“And Jesus said to him, ‘Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone.'”

Matthew 1:23

“Behold, the virgin shall be with child, and bear a Son, and they shall call His name ‘Immanuel,’ which is translated, ‘God with us.'”

So, since Jesus is “God with us,” and no one is good except God, then Jesus is good!

The most amusing and incredible thing of this reading, to me, is that Jesus is also called the Word. So, Jesus is the Word, which means seed. Essentially, He and the Spirit are one, because the seed sowed by the Spirit birthed the Word, which is the seed.  Because Jesus is God, He is also the Word, who is also the seed.

John 1:1

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”

Jesus and the Spirit are the same kind. This is made very apparent, again, by the lessons and revelation of nature. I will not go into detail, but if you read the first chapter of Genesis, creation is all about every kind of living thing bearing forth its own kind.

To wrap up my pondering, what does that have to do with me? I have many, many conclusions from this one verse, but the thought that stands out is the principal of grafting. The reason I am able to have life is that I have experienced a “grafting into” Christ. And I am able to be compatible to this plant because I have been made “like Christ” (of the kind of Christ) by uniting myself (marriage metaphor, very prevalent in the Bible and gives you a clue how to understand the relationship between a man and a woman’s marriage! This unity MUST happen to produce offspring!) with Him by faith. I can now bear the same fruit as the Spirit, as I am the same kind! It is quite amazing! I am also now made good, because I have been gifted the renewed imprint/image of God! For further meditation, remind yourself that every believer is the host of the Holy Spirit.

John 15:15

“‘I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.‘”

1 Corinthians 6:17

“But the one who joins himself to the Lord is one spirit with Him.”

Now, let’s reveal the mystery of the term BORN AGAIN Christian. To be born again reveals a new nature that takes on the characteristics of the new parent, God the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. So, I am united to this blood line and receives the inheritance and privilege of being a child of God. In order to be born again, I have to exit my old nature through a kind of death and burial. I must go under before I come back up alive! That is to give up the just condemnation of not being perfectly good, and to receive the righteousness that is gifted to us through simply receiving. Contrary to popular believe, giving up the old is a good thing, not an oppression. Many people misunderstand my faith to be bondage and rules and regulations that lead to a painful, boring death. It is not so.

When I have free time, I will get into Joseph’s response to this whole thing. It is fascinating!! Peace out!

 

 

 

